Topological Matter School 2019

Global (topological) properties and lattice symmetries are essential to recognize and classify states of matter known as topological phases. They entail exotic electronic behavior that have driven broad searches of novel materials that can host them. Topology plays a fundamental role in the classification of phases of matter. The different approaches to this problem, each emphasizing different aspects of topology, have led to a diverse variety of topological sates of matter, all displaying exotic electronic behavior rooted in their topological nature.

The main goal of the Topological Matter School 2019 (August 19-23 2019 Donostia – San Sebastián) is to cover material from different approaches to topological matter, showing their relations and differences, in particular in the presence of strong interactions. The school will feature lectures on topological classification, topological insulators, superconductors, and semimetals, the Integer and Fractional Quantum Hall states, anyons and topological order. Over one week, the school will provide extended lectures on these exciting topics by leading experts in both experiment and theory.

While the school is primarily aimed at instructing master and graduate students and youngpostdoctoral researchers, more senior scientists who want to acquaint themselves with the subject of the school are also welcome.


This is the list of lecturers for the 2019 edition:

• Steve Simon (University of Oxford – UK)
• Pablo Jarillo-Herrero (MIT – USA)
• Moty Heiblum (Weizmann Institute of Science – Israel)
• Charlie Kane (UPenn – USA)
• Frank Pollmann (TU Munich – Germany)
• Michael Zaletel (University of California Berkeley – USA)
• Vidya Madhavan (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign – USA)
• Jennifer Cano (Stony Brook and Flatiron Institute – USA)
• Roni Ilan (Tel Aviv University – Israel)
• Alexander Altland (University of Cologne – Germany)
• Andrei Bernevig (Princeton University – USA)
• Joel Moore (University of California Berkeley – USA)
• Leslie Schoop (Princeton University – USA)
• Claudia Felser (Max Planck – Dresden)